Coconut Pancakes


LCHF and pancakes usually do not go hand in hand. However, there are certain hacks you can do to make it okay. When I was growing up, my dad used to make us pancakes on rainy Saturday mornings. Feeling a little nostalgic today, I decided to try to mix up the recipe my dad used.

DSC_0043

Don’t get me wrong – you probably don’t want to eat this for breakfast every day, but once or twice a week is perfectly fine. The net carbs isn’t too bad, and even if I haven’t done the math, most of the ingredients in it is pretty low in carbs.

Here’s what I used:

DSC_0034

❤ 2 eggs
❤ 4 (big) tablespoons of yogurt
❤ 4 tablespoons of shredded coconut (or 2 tablespoons of coconut flour)
❤ 1 scoop of bakepro (baking protein)
❤ ½ teaspoon of stevia powder
❤ 1 teaspoon of psyllium husk powder
❤ 1 teaspoon of baking powder
❤ 1 pinch of salt

DSC_0035

Start by mixing your eggs and yoghurt, before adding the dry ingredients.

DSC_0036

Mix well, and wait 15 minutes. This way, the dry ingredients will absorb most of the liquid.

Melt butter in a frying pan on medium/high, and add the batter like you would with normal pancakes.

DSC_0038

Give them a few minutes before flipping them to the other side.

DSC_0039

That’s it!

DSC_0040

Use your topping of preference. I love the standard butter + pancake syrup (Walden Farms has one with no calories and no carbs!) or butter and strawberries. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any strawberries, so I used a strawberry sauce from Walden Farms. It tasted yummy, but I agree; It looks like there was a pancake massacre going on here:

DSC_0042

Other toppings that I think are great for pancakes are blueberry spread, cream cheese, whipped cream, raspberries, blueberries and Walden Farms’ chocolate syrup. What’s your favourite pancake topping?

Leave a comment